Illinois State Police Trooper Injured in Scott’s Law Related Car Accident
Aug 20, 2021
Chicago, IL (Law Firm Newswire) August 20, 2021 – An Illinois State Police trooper sustained serious injuries after a vehicle struck his squad car on Interstate 55.
The District 5 trooper was assisting at the scene of a separate motor vehicle accident when the collision occurred. The rear end of a gold Chevrolet crashed into the back of his squad car in the highway’s right lane. The trooper was inside his vehicle, which was stationary and had its emergency lights activated.
The Chevrolet driver was identified as 43-year-old Michael J. Ryan. Ryan was traveling eastbound on Interstate 80 when he allegedly lost control of the car, causing it to spin. He was not injured in the car accident. Police cited Ryan for violating Scott’s Law, failure to reduce speed to avoid an accident, driving too fast for conditions and driving without proof of insurance.
“Scott’s Law, also known as the Move Over Law, requires Illinois drivers to be alert and move out of the way when they see emergency vehicles. Violations of the law can result in penalties, and the consequences can be serious if there is a crash,” said Paul Greenberg, a personal injury lawyer with Chicago law firm Briskman Briskman & Greenberg, who is not involved with the case. “When a driver’s negligence leads to a car accident that causes injuries, the victim may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit.”
The trooper was taken to an area hospital with non-life-threatening injuries. The crash marked the second consecutive day that a motorist hit an Illinois State Police car in the Joliet area. A trooper responding to an accident on I-55 suffered serious injuries when a Cadillac hit the rear end of his vehicle.
Illinois State Police urged people to observe Scott’s Law and pay attention while driving. The law requires drivers to slow down and switch lanes when approaching an emergency vehicle or a vehicle with flashing hazard lights.
Violating Scott’s Law can result in a fine of between $250 and $10,000 for a first-time offender. If the violation causes another person to get injured, the motorist will face a driver’s license suspension for six months to two years.
Learn more at https://www.briskmanandbriskman.com/