Attorney, Shaun R. Marks
Flint, MI (Law Firm Newswire) April 25, 2014 — It is never wise to violate probation for a drunk driving conviction, but leaving posts about such violations on social media is an even worse move.
A Michigan woman recently learned the consequences of probation violation, a prominent Michigan drunk driving attorney explained.
“Violating the terms of probation only leads to worse legal consequences,” indicates attorney Shaun R. Marks, who is not involved with the woman’s case. “People need to be aware that the authorities monitor compliance with the terms of their probation — and that monitoring can include viewing their posts on social media.”
After a 2012 drunk driving conviction, the Michigan woman was put on probation. Her terms mandated that she not drink alcohol at any time.
On the day after St. Patrick’s Day in 2014, she was called to a Westland probation office to take a random Breathalyzer test. After passing the test, she posted on Facebook, “Buzz killer for me, I had to breathalyze this morning and I drank yesterday but I passed thank god lol my dumb[expletive].”
Local police saw the woman’s Facebook post and notified her probation office. Probation officials said that when they called the woman to tell her to come back to the office for a urine test, she disconnected the call. According to officials, the urine test would have detected whether the woman had consumed alcohol in the past 80 hours. Refusal to take the test is also a violation of her probation.
The woman could face a sentence of 90 days in jail for the probation violation.
Her probation was to expire in a matter of a few weeks.
“Drunk driving charges are a very serious matter, and people should never make their situation worse by violating the terms of their probation,” Marks points out. “People who are facing charges need to seek qualified legal counsel and follow their attorney’s advice.”
In addition to possible probation, people convicted of a first offense for drunk driving in Michigan can face up to 93 days in jail, suspension of their driver’s license for up to six months, a fine of from $100 to $500 and a driver responsibility fee of $1,000 for two years, among other penalties.
The Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
653 South Saginaw St #216
Flint, MI 48502
Clarkston MI 48346
Phone: (248) 620-7166
- Drunk Driving Causing Injury Carries Greater Penalties
A Macomb County teenager recently learned the seriousness of charges for drunk driving that results in serious injury. The 17-year-old girl’s grandmother turned her in to police after she was allegedly involved in a hit-and-run accident which caused serious injuries to a pedestrian. The young woman was charged with failure to stop at the scene […]
- Defendants Charged with Drunk Driving Should Seek Legal Counsel
If you are charged with operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) or with another type of drunk driving charge, seek legal counsel immediately. Drunk driving charges can be very serious indeed, and an attorney experienced with such cases can make sure that your interests are represented and that you have the best chance possible […]
- Charges of DUI or OWI with accident are more serious
Ordinary DUI or OWI charges are serious in themselves. But when alleged drunk driving results in an accident that causes serious injury or death, it is likely that the driver will be charged with a felony. In such cases, legal representation is essential. In cases where alleged drunk driving causes an accident that results in […]
- Boaters can be charged with boating under the influence
Just as drunk driving laws prohibit the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants, so do boating under the influence laws prohibit operating a water vessel. However, there are important differences between drunk driving laws and drunk boating laws. In Michigan, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) for operating any kind […]
- Minors charged with alcohol offenses need legal representation
In the state of Michigan, zero tolerance laws apply to any individual under age 21 who drives with any amount of alcohol in his or her system. In addition, minors in possession of alcohol may be charged with a crime even when not behind the wheel. While the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for […]