Charges of Drunk Driving Causing Death Carry Especially Serious Consequences
Mar 24, 2014
Attorney, Shaun R. Marks
Flint, MI (Law Firm Newswire) March 24, 2014 – Drivers accused of drunk driving causing death face very serious charges, explains a prominent Michigan drunk driving attorney.
“When a death results from a car accident allegedly caused by a drunk driver, the driver is likely to be charged with a felony,” says Flint DUI defense attorney Shaun R. Marks.
A 17-year-old student at Wyoming Park High School has been charged accordingly. He allegedly crashed a car while under the influence, resulting in the death of two of his classmates. He was charged with four drunk driving counts; two of the counts were for drunk driving causing death. He may face up to 15 years in prison. His bail was set at $50,000.
The high school students killed in the accident included a 15-year-old girl, a freshman, and a 17-year-old boy, set to graduate soon. The girl was on the cheerleading squad, and the boy was a member of the varsity golf team.
Three other teenagers were in the car. All three, two 18-year-old boys and one 16-year-old boy, were injured.
The parents of the 17-year-old boy who died in the accident told reporters that they do not blame the driver, saying that they are praying for him and understand that he is suffering as well.
“Drunk driving causing death is considered a much more serious drunk driving offense,” indicates Marks. “Prosecutors are more likely to seek the maximum possible penalty, and judges are more likely to impose it.”
Under Michigan law, a person convicted of drunk driving causing death faces up to 15-years in prison and a fine of between $2,500 and $10,000. If the person killed is a police officer, firefighter or any other type of emergency response worker, the person convicted may face up to 20-years in prison and a fine of between $2,500 and $10,000. A person convicted of drunk driving that causes serious impairment of bodily function to another person can face up to five years in prison and a fine between $1,000 and $5,000. In conjunction with any of these convictions, a defendant’s vehicle may also be forfeited or immobilized.
Learn more at http://www.michigandrunkdriving.com/practice-areas/flint-duiowi-defense-lawyer/.
The Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
653 South Saginaw St #216
Flint, MI 48502
Clarkston MI 48346
Phone: (248) 620-7166
- Penalties for Michigan OWI First, Second and Third Offense
Penalties for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in Michigan increase significantly if a person has a record of prior offenses. Here are the facts: First Offense Someone convicted of a first OWI offense can face up to 93 days in jail, a license suspension for up to six months (eligible for a restricted license […]
- How to Get Your Michigan Driver’s License Reinstated
If you have had your Michigan driving privileges taken away because of an impaired driving offense, you will usually have to attend an administrative hearing held by the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division in order to get your license reinstated,. The hearing process is complicated, and advance preparation is necessary. Hiring an experienced attorney to […]
- Michigan Has High Rate of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
According to data from national surveys, Michigan is home to a relatively high percentage of people who drive under the influence of alcohol — although the percentage is declining. The National Survey on Drug Use and Health compiled data from 2006 to 2009 from several federal government sources. It arrived at a percentage of people […]
- Learn the Facts About Michigan Drunk Driving Laws
There are several different charges that can be applied in Michigan drunk driving cases, which can lead to some confusion as residents try to distinguish between them. Here are the facts regarding the types of charges: Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI) is charged when a person’s ability to drive is visibly impaired due to alcohol […]
- Michigan Zero Tolerance Law Applies to Drivers Under Age 21
For drivers who have reached the legal drinking age of 21, “drunk driving” generally means driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher. However, for drivers under the age of 21, the state of Michigan has adopted a zero tolerance policy. Drivers under the legal drinking age who are found to have a […]