Lakeland, FL (Law Firm Newswire) October 30, 2014 — The consequences for DUI/DWI vary from state to state and if anyone is injured or killed, the penalties escalate.
“Make certain you clearly understand the laws in the state where you live, as each state has its own set of laws dealing with DUI/DWI. This is not to say that the actual blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is different. It is 0.08 in every state, although there are calls to reduce the level to 0.05,” explained Lakeland criminal defense attorney Thomas C. Grajek.
First-time offenders are not necessarily subjected to the full brunt of the law – a fact that is related to the severity of the offense. However, those with prior convictions or a demonstrated record of DUI/DWI may find themselves facing significantly higher penalties than those without, whether or not their priors involved an injury or accident.
In Florida, DUI is a serious offense that triggers mandatory penalties. When arrested, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) suspends a driver’s license for six to 18 months depending on the facts of the case. Penalties can increase when a driver blows well over 0.08, refuses to take a breath test or possesses a negative driver’s history. The DUI citation issued on arrest is also a temporary driver’s license for 10 days, if the driver is eligible. At the end of 10 days, the administrative suspension of a driver’s license is effective.
The parameters of police-issued DUI/DWI charges shift from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. If a police officer feels an individual is inebriated, the officer may take him or her into custody and charge them with a basic DUI/DWI. However, If a car accident is also involved, law enforcement may need to prove the suspected drunk driver’s BAC was 0.08 or over by administering a blood or breath test. In other jurisdictions, the police must prove a driver was drunk and that because the driver was drunk, he or she caused an accident.
Every state may order that victims receive restitution if someone driving under the influence injured them. Any victims have the right to attend a DUI/DWI driver’s trial and speak at his or her sentencing.
“Never discuss why you were drinking with the police. Those details are only for your criminal defense attorney. Make it a point to call one as soon as you can if you are arrested,” Grajek suggested.
Learn more at http://www.flcrimedefense.com/
Thomas C. Grajek
206 Easton Drive, Suite 102
Lakeland, FL 33803
- Woman arrested for DUI while wearing a "Hello Kitty" costume. Drink responsibly and be safe this Halloween!
Halloween is almost here and that means candy, costumes, and parties. Remember to be safe and responsible. There are a lot of children out on the streets Trick-or-Treating and drinking and driving at this time of year can be dangerous. Already, on Sunday a woman in Maine was arrested while dressed as “Hello Kitty”. She was stopped for allegedly driving in the wrong lane. It was not clear whether the driver was wearing the Hello Kitty head pictured below found in the car: The driver refused the breath test. In Florida, the police are not allowed to request a […]
- Bartow high school teacher arrested for drugs over the weekend. Was the search legal?
Over the weekend, a Bartow high school teacher was arrested for possession of marijuana and paraphernalia (a grinder). WFLA channel 8 is reporting that Polk County Sheriff deputies allegedly went to the teacher’s house in response to a tip that the teacher was in possession of the marijuana. Once the deputies arrived, they alleged smelled the odor of marijuana and searched the house according to the news report. Because the arrest just occurred, I was not able to get a copy of the actual police report, but there appears to be some issues with this search and whether it was […]
- If you have been arrested, the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure require you to disclose certain evidence.
If you have been arrested, one of the first things a criminal defense attorney does is file a “Demand for Discovery” and serve it on the prosecutor. This helps prepare the defense of your case by requiring the prosecutor to turn over information and evidence to the defense lawyer. This is an essential tool in the defense of a case because it lets the attorney and defendant know what they are up against, what defenses are available, and where the prosecutor’s evidence is lacking on an essential element of the crime. However, once a defendant chooses to participate in Discovery, […]