Attorney, Shaun R. Marks
Flint, MI (Law Firm Newswire) April 30, 2014 — All states define driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or above as a crime, but beyond that, drunk driving laws vary from state to state.
According to Michigan drunk driving attorney Shaun R. Marks, Michigan’s laws are neither the harshest nor the most lenient in the nation.
“Make sure you understand the state of Michigan’s laws and penalties for drunk driving,” says Marks, “and, if you are charged with operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or with a related offense, seek legal counsel immediately.”
State laws vary in their use of increased penalties for drivers with a particularly high blood alcohol content. Although all states prohibit driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher, most also impose greater penalties if a driver’s BAC is above a set, higher limit. Only two states have no increased penalties for higher BAC. The states that do vary the level they set from 0.10 to 0.20. In Michigan, the higher BAC threshold is 0.17 and is part of the state’s “super-drunk” driving law.
Some states suspend driver’s licenses for first-time drunk-driving offenses, and some do not. The state of Michigan imposes an administrative license suspension on defendants who refuse to submit to a chemical test for BAC. Other states impose driver’s license suspensions on first time offenders for seven days to six months, and a few states do not impose suspensions on first time offenders.
In a number of states, ignition interlock devices are mandated for those convicted of drunk driving. Ignition interlocks test a person’s BAC and do not permit a motor vehicle to operate if the driver has been drinking. In Michigan, ignition interlocks are mandatory for “super-drunk” offenses. Other states make the devices mandatory for all convictions, for repeat offenders only or at the discretion of each judge.
Finally, there are differences in what states may do with the vehicles of people convicted of drunk driving. Along with slightly more than half the 50 states, Michigan permits the immobilization or confiscation of a person’s vehicle under certain circumstances. Twenty-one states have no such provision.
The Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
653 South Saginaw St #216
Flint, MI 48502
Clarkston MI 48346
Phone: (248) 620-7166
- Michigan Drunk Driving Facts
Two hundred and fifty-nine drunk driving deaths (0.08 BAC or higher) occurred in 2012. These deaths accounted for 28 percent of total traffic fatalities in an increase of 1.2 percent from the previous year. In 2012, 10,014 alcohol-related crashes (0.01 BAC or higher) took place, resulting in 5,471 injuries. The same year, there were 35,748 […]
- Drunk Driving Causing Injury Carries Greater Penalties
A Macomb County teenager recently learned the seriousness of charges for drunk driving that results in serious injury. The 17-year-old girl’s grandmother turned her in to police after she was allegedly involved in a hit-and-run accident which caused serious injuries to a pedestrian. The young woman was charged with failure to stop at the scene […]
- Defendants Charged with Drunk Driving Should Seek Legal Counsel
If you are charged with operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) or with another type of drunk driving charge, seek legal counsel immediately. Drunk driving charges can be very serious indeed, and an attorney experienced with such cases can make sure that your interests are represented and that you have the best chance possible […]
- Charges of DUI or OWI with accident are more serious
Ordinary DUI or OWI charges are serious in themselves. But when alleged drunk driving results in an accident that causes serious injury or death, it is likely that the driver will be charged with a felony. In such cases, legal representation is essential. In cases where alleged drunk driving causes an accident that results in […]
- Boaters can be charged with boating under the influence
Just as drunk driving laws prohibit the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants, so do boating under the influence laws prohibit operating a water vessel. However, there are important differences between drunk driving laws and drunk boating laws. In Michigan, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) for operating any kind […]