Penalties for Michigan OWI First, Second and Third Offense

Penalties for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in Michigan increase significantly if a person has a record of prior offenses. Here are the facts:

First Offense

Someone convicted of a first OWI offense can face up to 93 days in jail, a license suspension for up to six months (eligible for a restricted license after 30 days), six license points, a fine of between $100 and $500 and a $1,000 driver responsibility fee for two years. There is also the possibility of the assignment of up to 360 hours of community service, the mandated use of an ignition interlock device and the … read more

,